​Subscribe to my quarterly newsletter for exclusive, behind the scene information on books, new releases, sales, and my life. PLUS you'll receive a FREE Fated Series novella

* indicates required


Nancy C. Weeks, friend and romantic suspense novelist extraordinaire, is releasing the conclusion in her Shadow series on Monday November 22nd. That book, In the Shadow of Vengeance will be highlighted right here on that date. In the meantime, we take a look back at the books that came before…

MY REVIEW OF In the Shadow of Pride
(Previously published on Wordpress)


Lexie Trevena buried her murdered husband, discovered he had cheated on her, and signed to adopt his newborn son—all before noon. Now she just wants to raise her child in the loving, supportive home she never had. The last thing she needs is another man to complicate her life, but her best friends feel differently. Their matchmaking meddling accidentally places Lexie smack in the path of a
I'm a link - click me!
terrorist who intends to use her as his pawn.

The only person who can help her is the FBI agent she holds responsible for her husband’s death.

Special-Agent-In-Charge Luke “Mac” McNeil watched his best friend and partner marry a woman he knew was too good for him, but he did nothing to stop the wedding. He stood by as Lexie adopted the cheating jerk’s son. But when someone goes to great lengths to make it appear that Lexie is responsible for launching a drone into the home of a prominent Texas senator, Mac’s conscience finally speaks up, and he fights for Lexie’s freedom ... even though all the evidence leads to her door, and she has never given him a reason to trust her.

Can Lexie and Mac find the courage to forgive and trust, or will their pride stand in the way of love, allowing terrorists to bring another devastating attack onto United States soil?

Sensuality Level: Sensual



I've never made it a secret that I enjoy Nancy's In the Shadow series and in my opinion these books just keep getting better. The McNeil brothers have YUMMY to spare. Her heroines are spunky. The villians are despicable and I love a well written bad guy. She fills these books with suspense, grit, sizzle, sexual tension and laughter. That's always a compelling combination. But in Pride, I found a little something extra.

Lexie Trevena is ballsy, outspoken, independent, damn but I liked the hell out of her. :) And this book which I inhaled in one sitting. Be sure to pick this one up. You can't lose with any one of the Shadow books but Lexie and Mac are special.

And as an extra special treat, Sarah and Jason [the couple from the first book in the series In the Shadow of Greed available now as part of the Racing Hearts 10 book 99¢ bundle] play a large part as supporting characters in this story. It was fantastic getting to share in their happily ever after as Nancy continues to build the McNeil universe.


In the Shadow of Pride is available now at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, iTunes and everywhere eBooks are sold!



Nancy C. Weeks lives in suburban Maryland with her husband of more than thirty years. She has two children in college and spends her days out on her deck writing as the local bird population keeps her company. Nancy loves to talk to readers and you can find her on her website, blog or Facebook.


  1. Becky,
    Thank you so much for your very kind words. I had a real hard time letting go of Mac and Lexie. Of course, I experienced the same with each of my McNeil brothers. It's hard turning their stories into my editor because it is so fun playing in their world. By the way, you rock, girlfriend!!

    1. I love these books. The Hootsuite for PRIDE failed, lol. And I haven't finished VENGEANCE yet - so the review will come later (probably Christmas Eve =D )


Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Labor of Love Blog Hop

#Hello2016 My Name is..

Rockin' Reads Blog Hop